So Valentine’s Day is around the corner!!! I’m just kidding with those exclamation marks, though. I don’t hate the day, but I am kind of “meh” about it. We don’t do much. I wish I could blame it on the kids, but we never really did much before the kids. We’re pretty low key people. We don’t have expensive taste, or class, so we’re not the “fancy-restaurant-pricey-champagne” type. Honestly, I’m giddy if he brings home donuts.

We DO have love, though (awwwww! I know,) so we will do small, simple gestures. Things like cards, chocolates, etc.

Like I said, I don’t hate the day, I just think it’s kind of commercialized. I roll my eyes at the bragging that goes on about “what he did/how much he spent”.

This year we went out to dinner and a concert the weekend before VD. We agreed that it was kind of our present to each other. (Still hoping he’ll bring home donuts on the 14th, though). I’m in favour of doing things together. I like making memories through experiences instead of spending money we don’t have on shit we don’t need. For instance, my Christmas gift was a Niagara wine tour that we’ll take in the coming year, and I’m stoked.

Anyway! If you’ve stuck it out while I’ve rambled, thank you. I thought I’d do one of those fun little “he versus she” surveys to conclude this post. If you’re anything like me, you enjoy being a bit of a creepy onlooker and reading about other people’s lives. Yup, I read YOUR personal posts, creep around your pictures, and *might* even know the names of your cousins, co-workers, childhood pets…

So without further ado, survey time.

Who is older? Me by three weeks.

Who was interested first? We “met” over MSN Messenger. Remember those days? I guess I would say Andrew because he messaged me pretty frequently 😉

How long have you been together? Twelve years.

Married? Coming up on eight years!

More sarcastic? Probably Andrew. But I can hold my own.

Who makes the most mess? Me.

Who has more tattoos? Andrew because I have none.

Better singer? Me. He LOVES when I sing. Especially Disney, musicals, songs I don’t *actually* know the lyrics to, etc…

Hogs the remote? ANDREW. Is hockey always on? Like, always? Because I feel like it is…

Better driver? Andrew since I don’t drive.

Spends the most? Well him…but often because I send him texts instructing him to buy me wine. So sometimes he’s spending ON me.

Smarter? I like to think we’re both smart cookies, but probably Andrew edges me out a bit. We’re different kinds of smart, though.

Most common sense? OMG Andrew. I’m too ruled by emotions.

Whose siblings do you see the most? It’s probably equal or close.

Do you have any children together? Two crazy, cute and hilarious kiddos.

Did you go to the same school? Nope.

Who is the most sensitive? Defo me.

Where do you eat out most as a couple? Eat out? No, we order in.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together? Europe!

Who has the craziest ex? Neither. We got together young, and we were each other’s first serious relationship.

Who has the worst temper? We both have a bit of a temper, if I’m going to be honest. But not like wall-punching tempers. We’ll argue, but then kiss and make up.

Who does the cooking? We both do.

Who is more social? ANDREW. He gets along with almost everyone and likes to chat. I can have social anxiety until I get my mitts on some wine.

Who is the neat freak? When the mood strikes, we can both go on major cleaning frenzies.

Who is the most stubborn? We’re both stubborn. Both first borns!

Who hogs the bed? Annika? Lol. Only when she has bad dreams. Neither Andrew nor I really hog the bed, but I drive him crazy by tangling up all the blankets. I suffer from “sleep violence”…as he’s termed it.

Who wakes up earlier? Baby + toddler = everyone up TOO early.

Where was your first date? Kingston…I think grabbing some groceries at Loblaws, lol…

Who has the bigger family? We both have the same.

Do you get flowers often? I do sometimes! He’s gone through phases where he’s bought me regular “Friday flowers”. What a gent.

Who does the laundry? That’s all me, but we split chores pretty well. We’ve gravitated toward different ones over the years, though. I’m the laundry lady.

Who’s better with the computers? ANDREW.

Who drives when you are together? Andrew, see above.

Who picks where you go to dinner? Always Andrew. I can’t handle that kind of pressure, and he always spots interesting places he wants to try, so it’s perfect.

Who wears the pants in relationship? That’s an antiquated question. We’re a partnership.

Who said “I love you” first? I *think* Andrew, but I think I said it right back.

That’s it for that survey! Happy VD, friends!

One thought on “Valentine’s Day

  1. we are sooo the same
    way! Valentine’s day is so overrated. cannot stand the bragging during that time!
    we did a date night at home (i may blog on that soon- home dates lol) as thats all we can ever do these days lol XO

    ps love the survey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

